The Catholic University of America

 STRSSA Teacher of the Year Award

In an effort to recognize and encourage teaching excellence within the School of Theology and Religious Studies, the Executive Board and Representatives of STRSSA have created a Teacher of the Year Award. This award is presented by the Executive Board and Representatives of STRSSA on behalf of the student body to a faculty member who has demonstrated a thoroughgoing commitment to student academic growth through excellence in teaching, mentoring, and advisement.


In order to be considered for this award, a faculty member must be nominated by a member of the student body. Nominations may be submitted between September 1 and March 1 of the academic year in which the award will be presented. Nominations should include a brief explanation of why the nominating student feels the faculty member to be worthy of recognition.


Once all nominations have been collected and assessed, the Executive Board and Representatives of STRSSA will vote to select the recipient of the award. The award, which will consist of a plaque and a $100 donation made to a charity of the faculty member’s choice, will be presented on May 1 of the academic year.


To submit a nomination for the teaching award, please click HERE, and include an explanation as to why the you believe that this faculty member should receive the award. 

Previous Winners


Professor David Cloutier


Professor Ian Boxall


Professor Joshua Benson


Professor Robert Miller III